Any advice on making my site better?

Homepage Forums Community Show off and feedback: your sites made with Blackoot Any advice on making my site better?

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  iceable 2 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

unregistered
    Participant

Hey everybody, just did a lot of work on my site using the free Blackoot theme (lite) and was wondering if you all had any advice on how to make it better? I’m a starving student / artist, so please keep in that in mind (tight budget), but any plugin or tweak suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance, Tim (timothyjudd.net)

Reply to: Any advice on making my site better?

iceable
    Keymaster
    Support
    Happy with my help?
    Buy me a beer!

Hi Tim,

I had a quick look at your site which looks pretty good already, here are a few tweaks I’d suggest (from my technical CSS geek point of view).

– Changing the default gold-ish color to your blue is obviously a must, (you already asked about it in another thread so I guess you knew about that one!)

– Since you added your logo as “Custom Header”, you are not using the main header area at all which leaves a large empty grey area on the top of the page. This CSS will get rid of it completely:

#header { display: none; }

You can use a Custom CSS plugin (such as https://wordpress.org/plugins/simple-custom-css/) to add this code to your site with the Lite version of the theme.

– Your logo is pretty big and takes more than half of the “above the fold” area when one lands on your page. It additionally looks a bit pixellated, as if you tried to stretch it to fit the 1000px wide suggestion for custom header. I would use a smaller version of the logo (I think around 500px would look fine) and add this CSS to center it and make sure the background of the custom header container matches your logo’s:

#header-image { background: #000; text-align: center; }